The Three Cayman Islands

The Cayman Islands are made up of the three islands of Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac and Little Cayman. The total area is 100 square miles and the population is estimated at approximately 55,000.

The largest island is Grand Cayman, which is approximately 22 miles long and 8 miles at maximum width. The highest point on the island (apart from the rubbish dump, which is known locally as Mount Trashmore) is only 60 feet above sea level. Cayman Brac occupies 14 square miles and Little Cayman just 10 square miles.

The Caves

Of the possibly hundreds of caves on Cayman Brac, only a handful are marked on the map and signposted for the public. However, those that are marked are reasonably easy to access and will give visitors a sense of some of the Brac’s hidden treasures.

Read more

The Bluff

Cayman Brac’s most famous landmark is without doubt the Bluff. Running along the centre of the island, this limestone ridge rises vertically from the flat land either side of it, to 140 feet at the eastern end of the island – the highest elevation in the Cayman Islands. Traditionally, the…

Read more

Perfect island hideaways

Cayman attracts all types of vacationers, so it’s only natural that the availability of accommodations reflects their varying needs. Indeed, Cayman has an unparalleled choice of accommodation to suit just about every budget. From the high-end luxury of world-famous resorts, to a laid-back dive resort or an island-style boutique cottage…

Read more